For members and prospective members to access information about the Society, its events, membership, and more.


The Medico-Legal Society of Toronto was founded in 1950 by a group of doctors and lawyers to promote medical, legal, and scientific knowledge, cooperation, and understanding between the professions.

Membership in the Society is open to members of the medical, legal and related professions.

Already a member of MLST and wish to renew your 2020-2021 membership term?

Congratulations to our 2021 recipients of the
Medico-Legal Society Award and the Dr. Grant Farrow Award!

Valerie Wise, Wise Health Law

Andrea Lim, Dutton Brock LLP

The 2020-2021 Medico-Legal Society Award, recognizing outstanding contributions made by members of the Medical, Legal or Scientific community is presented to Valerie Wise of Wise Health Law.  Valerie is a past President of the MLST and a long-time member of the MLST Council. Valerie is a certified specialist in health law with over 25 years of experience advising health care professionals and institutions.

This is the inaugural year for the Grant Farrow Award, recognizing a young or mid-career member of the Society for their contributions to the Society or the community at large.  For 2020-2021 this award is presented to Andrea Lim of Dutton Brock LLP, who has distinguished herself by her energetic contributions from the moment of joining the MLST.  Andrea was one of the founding members of the Young Professionals Committee, is co-chair of the membership committee, and is currently Secretary-Treasurer of the Society.

We look forward to recognizing and present the awards to Valerie and Andrea!